Sri Lanka Squad for ICC T20 Cricket World Cup 2024

Star all-rounder Wanindu Hasaranga will lead the star studded Sri Lankan side for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024.

Hasaranga, who was named Sri Lanka’s T20I captain in December last year, will lead the squad to the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024 in the West Indies and the United States. Charith Asalanka, a middle-order hitter, has been appointed as his deputy.

Sri Lanka has relied on the expertise of veteran Angelo Mathews, who returned to the T20I squad earlier this year in January after nearly three years away. Mathews will be making his sixth T20 World Cup appearance, having previously played in Sri Lanka’s successful campaign in 2014.

Read Also: See all the Squads of ICC T20 Cricket World Cup 2024

There will be enough of leadership experience in the Sri Lanka setup, with former limited overs captain Dasun Shanaka joining Kusal Mendis (current ODI captain) and Dhananjaya de Silva.

Sri Lanka’s roster includes a number of all-rounders in order to maintain balance. Skipper Hasaranga is one of the spin bowling all-rounders, alongside Dunith Wellalage, Dhananjaya de Silva, and Kamindu Mendis. Mathews and Shanaka are the team’s two trustworthy pace bowling all-rounders.

Matheesha Pathirana and Nuwan Thushara, with their slinging bowling motion reminiscent of Lasith Malinga, add X-factor to Sri Lanka’s pace attack, led by Dushmantha Chameera and Dilshan Madushanka.

Sri Lanka is drawn in Group D, alongside South Africa, Bangladesh, the Netherlands, and Nepal. They face South Africa in New York on June 3 to kick off their T20 World Cup campaign.

Sri Lanka Squad for ICC T20 Cricket World Cup 2024

Sri Lanka squad: Wanindu Hasaranga (c), Charith Asalanka (vc), Kusal Mendis, Pathum Nissanka, Kamindu Mendis, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Angelo Mathews, Dasun Shanaka, Dhananjaya De Silva, Maheesh Theekshana, Dunith Wellalage, Dushmantha Chameera, Nuwan Thushara, Matheesha Pathirana, and Dilshan Madushanka

Traveling Reserves: Asitha Fernando, Vijayakanth Viyaskanth, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, and Janith Liyanage.

Start a Conversation

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *