Qualified Teams for the ICC T20 Cricket World Cup 2024

The 2024 ICC Men’s T20 World Cup is the ninth edition of the T20 World Cup, a cricket tournament that happens every two years. This tournament features men’s national teams playing Twenty20 International (T20I) matches and is organized by the International Cricket Council (ICC). It will be co-hosted by the West Indies and the United States from June 1 to June 29, 2024.

This World Cup is special because it will have matches played in the United States, which is a first for any ICC World Cup tournament outside the West Indies in the Americas. England is the defending champion, having won the previous edition by defeating Pakistan in the final.

Table of Contents

Qualified Teams for the ICC T20 Cricket World Cup 2024


Qualified TeamsTeamsMeans of Qualification
United States
West Indies
New Zealand
South Africa
Sri Lanka
8Top 8 from Previous World Cup
2ICC T20I Rankings
2Europe Qualifier
Papua New Guinea1East Asia-Pacific Qualifier
Canada1Americas Qualifier
2Asia Qualifier
2Africa Qualifier

Qualification Criteria

The hosts and the best teams from the 2022 competition qualified automatically for the competition. The top-ranked teams in the ICC Men’s T20I Team Rankings that hadn’t been guaranteed spots in the championship game as of November 14, 2022, received two additional spots.

Two teams each from Africa, Asia, and Europe, as well as one team each from the Americas and East Asia-Pacific regions, qualified regionally to complete the remaining spots. The ICC validated the sub-regional qualification routes for Africa, East Asia-Pacific, and Europe in May 2022.

Following Papua New Guinea from the East Asia-Pacific Qualifier, Ireland and Scotland qualified from the Europe Qualifier in July 2023. Following their victory over Bermuda in the Americas Qualifier, Canada entered in October 2023.

Qualified Teams for the ICC T20 Cricket World Cup 2024

The next month in Nepal, Nepal and Oman secured their spots in the World Cup finals. Following their placement in the top two of the Africa Qualifier, Namibia and Uganda emerged as the final two qualifying teams. Zimbabwe, a nation that plays Test cricket, was not eligible.

Start a Conversation

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *