ICC T20 World Cup 2024 Format

ICC T20 World Cup 2024 format is something of new discussion in the cricket world. Ninth edition of T20 World Cup is going to be something different than the previous ones. ICC is organizing T20 World Cup 2024 with increased number of the teams in the competition, boasting the participation of 20 teams across the world. It is the first time in the history of cricket world cup that 20 teams are participating viewing to compete and clinch the title.

Uganda and Canada qualified for the first time in the competition whereas USA is participating the competition by virtue of being co-host of the tournament. This world cup will be providing a way bigger exposure to more associate nations as they will lock the horns with the giant cricket nations.

There will be total 55 matches in the tournament across nine venues, starting from 1st June and the final will take place on 29th June. There will be matches in six stadiums of West Indies and the remaining will be hosted in USA. The Super Eight and knockout matches will be played in the West Indies.

ICC T20 World Cup 2024 format

ICC T20 World Cup 2024 format will revolve around how the teams will play in the tournament. 20 teams qualified for the tournament will be divided into 4 groups with 5 teams in each group. The qualified teams are as follows:

a) Two host nations (USA and West Indies),

b) Top eight teams at ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022 (Australia, India, England, Pakistan, Netherlands, South Africa, New Zealand, Sri Lanka ),

c) Top two best-ranked unqualified teams in the ICC Men’s T20 I team Rankings at 14 Nov 2022 (Afghanistan and Bangladesh);

d) Eight teams qualified through regional finals (Nepal, Canada, Scotland, Oman, Namibia, Uganda, Papua New Guinea and Ireland).

5 teams in the group will compete with one another trying to get the place of top two in the group. The answer regarding the selection of the teams from the group stage is simple based on the points in the points table of each group. The top 2 teams from each group will qualify for the super eight. The qualified teams in the Super Eight will be then divided into two groups of four, from which again top two teams will qualify to the next stage i.e. the Knockout stage. The knockout stage will consist of two semi-finals such that two winners of Semi-Finals will fight for the title in the Final.

The teams will be focusing on their points table while competing each match to ensure the qualification for the next round.

League StageJune 1 – June 1820 teams divided into 4 groups (A, B, C, D)
Super 8 StageJune 19 – June 24Top 2 teams from each group advance
Semi-FinalsJune 26 – June 27Top 2 teams from each Super 8 group compete in knockout semi-finals
FinalJune 29Winners of the semi-finals face off in the grand finale

There will be total 55 matches. 40 matches will be played in 40 Group stage whereas 12 matches will be played in Super 8 matches. There will 2 semi-finals and 1 final. There shall be then one team as ultimate winner.

Start a Conversation

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *