Group Stage of ICC T20 Cricket World Cup 2024

The ninth edition of the World Cup in the shortest format will be jointly hosted by West Indies and United States, starting from June 1.

A record 20 teams—up from 16 teams in the 2022 tournament—will compete in the event. These teams include the two hosts, the top eight teams from that year, the next two teams ranked in the ICC Men’s T20I Team Rankings, and eight teams chosen through regional qualifying.

Ten of the twenty countries will play their opening encounter of the 29-day competition in the United States. The sixteen matches are slated to take place in Lauderhill, Dallas, and New York, while the highly anticipated match between India and Pakistan is set for June 9 at the brand-new Nassau County International Cricket Stadium in Long Island.

Group Stage of ICC T20 Cricket World Cup 2024

There will be forty-one games spread over six Caribbean islands. Trinidad and Tobago and Guyana will host the semi-finals, while Barbados will host the championship game on June 29.

In addition to the United States, who is playing in the men’s T20 World Cup for the first time as co-hosts, Canada and Uganda also qualified.

England are the defending champions and Pakistan are the runner up of the tournament.

Table of Contents

Group Stage of ICC T20 Cricket World Cup 2024

For the first time in the history, total of 20 teams around the world will be playing in the ICC T20 Cricket World Cup 2024.

All the 20 teams will be divided into 4 different groups with five teams in each group. Interestingly, Pakistan and India are in same group in Group A.

Co-hosts USA are joined in Group A by bitter rivals India and Pakistan, as well as Canada, making their event debut, and Ireland, a team from Europe.

The two most recent Men’s T20 World Cup champions, Australia and England, will play Namibia, Scotland, and Oman in Group B.

Group D pits South Africa, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Netherlands, and Nepal against one other; the West Indies are grouped with New Zealand, Afghanistan, Uganda, and Papua New Guinea in Group C.

Group Stage of ICC T20 Cricket World Cup 2024

The Group Stage of ICC T20 Cricket World Cup 2024 are as follows:

Group A

  • India
  • Pakistan
  • Ireland
  • USA
  • Canada

Group B

  • England
  • Australia
  • Scotland
  • Namibia
  • Oman

Group C

  • New Zealand
  • West Indies
  • Afghanistan
  • Uganda
  • Papua New Guinea

Group D

  • South Africa
  • Sri Lanka
  • Bangladesh
  • Netherlands
  • Nepal


Start a Conversation

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *